Formation of the Hong Kong Institute of Planners (HKIP) was initiated in the mid-1970s. After completion of the Constitution and By-laws and the Code of Professional Conduct, the Institute officially started operation in 1978 and was inaugurated in July 1979. In May 1991, the Institute became a statutory body with the enactment of the Hong Kong Institute of Planners Incorporation Ordinance 1991 by the Legislative Council.

HKIP Logo-vertical.png

The objectives of the Hong Kong Institute of Planners are:

  • To promote and safeguard development and the environment in Hong Kong in the best interests of the community. 

  • To raise the status and to safeguard the interests of the town planning profession and those engaged in it. 

  • To promote the community's awareness of the contribution of town planning. 

  • To promote education and research in town planning. 

  • To ensure that town planning professionals in the practice possess adequate professional competence through the admission into the Institute's membership.  

  • To secure the confidence of the community in the professional qualifications of members of the Institute.

  • To promote co-operation and understanding with other institutes and associations with similar objectives.


The Institute is one of the professional institutes in the Architectural, Surveying, Planning and Landscape Architectural functional constituency for the Legislative Council elections. It is also one of the ten professional bodies which meet to discuss matters of common interest. Its members sit on such committees as the Land and Development Advisory Committee, Harbourfront Commission, Professional Green Building Council, Hong Kong Coalition of Professional Services Limited, BEAM Society Limited, Cadastral Survey Consultative Committee and Advisory Committee on the Appearance of Bridges and Associated Structures (ACABAS). It is also a member of several international professional bodies including the Eastern Regional Organisation for Planning and Housing (EAROPH).

The Institute is recognised by all concerned local and overseas organisations as the professional planning institute representing the planning profession in Hong Kong. The Council of the Institute appoints Members to sit on the Planners Registration Board established under the Planners Registration Ordinance. The Institute's full membership is accepted by the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region and private consultant firms for appointment purposes.


The Institute gives annual awards to its members in recognition of outstanding achievements in town planning. The main objectives of the HKIP Awards are to promote better understanding and application of the principles and practice of town planning and to encourage the pursuit of excellence, amongst planners in Hong Kong. The Institute also grants annual scholarships to outstanding planning students enrolled in degree programmes offered by the Department of Urban Planning and Design at the University of Hong Kong.


President's Message


Welcome to the new HKIP website

On behalf of the Hong Kong Institute of Planners (HKIP), I would like to extend a warm and sincere welcome to you to our newly redesigned website.

Over the years, information was uploaded, spreading out over different databases, sections and homepages. Last year, we initiated the revamping exercise to redesign the website. Through the good work of our young members, you can now explore the new HKIP website by your PC or smartphone, obtain the latest information and give timely feedback in a one-stop portal. This newly revamped website will definitely give you a more comfortable browsing and reading experience.

We will continue our effort to update the website and make it more informative, more user-friendly and more fun. We have also started to connect with our members and the general public through a few popular social media platforms like Facebook, YouTube and LinkedIn. In the reaching out process, I am sure you will find areas we can further improve. I hope you will let us know any suggestions you may have. We have ventured into a new platform for HKIP to grow and evolve. The world is changing. Our city is changing. Let’s get ready and embrace the new challenges together!

Ms Fiona Lung, President

Ms Fiona Lung, President


Past Presidents

Name Year
Mr Eric Jackson 1978-1980
Dr Peter K S Pun 1980-1983, 1985-1987
Mr J Christopher Shaw 1983-1985
Mr Steven H K Chan 1987-1989, 1991-1993
Mr Edmund C W Lo 1989-1991
Mr Bosco C K Fung 1993-1995
Ms Iris S Y Tam 1995-1997
Mr Chan Pun Chung 1997-1999
Mr Andrew S L Lam 1999-2001
Mrs Ava S Y Ng 2001-2003
Mr Jimmy C F Leung 2003-2005
Mr Stanley C T Yip 2005-2007
Mr Ling Kar Kan 2007-2009
Mr Tam Po Yiu 2009-2011
Dr Peter Cookson Smith 2011-2013
Mr Raymond K W Lee 2013-2015
Dr Eunice H C Mak 2015-2017



Between annual general meetings, the Institute is administered by its Council. The Council consists of five office-bearers (namely the President, 2 Vice-Presidents, the Hon. Secretary and the Hon. Treasurer),  8 to 10 other members who must be Members of the Institute, two representatives of Students and the Immediate Past President. The term of the office of Council members is two Institute years.

The Council is assisted and advised by a Secretariat and a number of Committees, Boards and their working groups which include Annual Dinner Organising Committee, Community Planning Committee, Continuing Professional Development Committee, Editorial Committee, Education and Training Committee, Examination Board, External Affairs Committee, HKIP Awards Organising Committee, Mainland Liaison Committee, Membership Board, Public Affairs Committee, Website Committee and Young Planners Group. Other groups are set up from time to time when necessary, such as the Working Group on the Review of the Town Planning Ordinance. Members of these committees and groups are appointed by the Institute from its membership and, where appropriate, include experts in related fields as advisers.

Council MEmbers (2018 - 2019)




Constitution and Bye-Laws


Code of Professional Conducts


The Secretariat


Honorary Secretary Mr Louis Cheung

Executive Secretary Ms Monique Tai

Social Media Team Mr Mathew Fung
                                   Ms Kate Kwok
                                   Mr Edwin Tang

Contact Us


Office Address

Unit No. 201, 2/F, Prosperity Millennia Plaza, 663 King's Road, North Point, Hong Kong



Mondays to Fridays: 1:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Saturdays: 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Sunduys and Public Holidays: Close

Telephone: (852) 2915 6212
Fax: (852) 2915 7616