What's New | About Us | MemberShip | Boards & Committees | CPD | EVENTS | PUBLICATIONS | CONSULTANTS | CAREER | Useful Links


Examination Board


Board Members (2018-19)

Mr Ivan Chung (Chairman)
Mr Edward Lo (Government Representative)
Ms Kaman Kan (Secretary)
Prof Bo Tang
Prof Mee-kam Ng
Mr Jon Mak


Terms of Reference

  1. Appointed by the Council under Clause 30 of the Constitution to administer HKIP's Qualifying Examination for qualified overseas planning graduate, which was prescribed under Clauses 48(d) and 49 of the Bye-laws and entrusted to the Department of Planning and Design, the University of Hong Kong;

  2. Vet and recommend applications from qualified overseas planning graduates whether they are admitted or exempted for Part I and/or Part II of the Qualifying Examination; and

  3. Provide advice to Government departments and the public about enquiries on the required qualifications for sitting or exemption for Part I and/or Part II of the Qualifying Examination.


Membership Board


Board Members (2018-19)

Mr Cho-ming Li (Chairman)
Mr David Au
Mr Ivan Chung
Mr Thomas Lee
Ms Christina Lo
Ms Fiona Lung
Prof Mee-kam Ng
Mr Kenneth To
Ms Rebecca Wong
Ms Lily Yam
Ms Portia Yiu

Ms Rosa Tse (Secretary)


  • To receive, consider and make recommendations to Council on applications for membership of the Institute under its by-laws.

  • To interview applicants for full membership of the Institute to assess their planning knowledge and experience.

  • To make recommendations as appropriate on membership policy.


List of Committees


Annual Dinner Organising Committee

Community Planning Committee

Continuing Professional Development Committee



Editorial Committee

Education and Training Committee

External Affairs Committee



HKIP Awards Organising Committee

Mainland Liaison Committee

Public Affairs Committee



Website Committee

Young Planners Group